Vedic Astrology

Vedic Astrology is a system that originated in ancient India and was documented by Hindu sages in the Vedic Scriptures. Also known as "Jyotisham" - the science of light, Vedic astrology deals with astral light patterns that are thought to determine our destiny. It is the study of the effects of planetary movements on our lives.
Astrology is based on astronomy, and astrologers need to know the correct positions of the planets at any given time, as well as the correct positions of the zodiacal fixed star signs in relation to any place on earth at any given time. Once the correct positions of the signs and planets are known, astrologers can construct charts representing these positions. And using his knowledge, the astrologer can study the charts and can make a wide range of conclusions about an individual’s life.

Basic Principle of Vedic Astrology

The very concept of Vedic Astrology is that the 9 planets have some influence on one’s life based on the date, time and place (longitude & latitude) of an individual’s birth on earth.
These nine planets are Ravi (Sun), Chandra (Moon), Mangal (Mars), Budha (Mercury), Guru (Jupiter), Sukra (Venus), Shani (Saturn), Rahu (Dragon’s Head) and Ketu (Dragon’s Tail).

Birth Charts

In Jyotish, the main item is an individual’s birth chart. It's a map of the planets in the signs of the zodiac. These signs of the zodiac are also known as houses. There are 12 houses in total that corresponds to each of the zodiac signs.

Charts are cast based on an exact moment at an exact place on earth. Therefore, the moment you were born and the place you were born has a chart and that is your "birth chart".

By reading this chart, an astrologer can know much about you. The positions of the planets in the real star-based zodiac are taken and your "dashas" (predictive timeline) are arranged. Your Vedic chart will most likely reflect your real-life and your dashas are probably operating the way they should. The Vedic astrologer looks at these planets, signs and house placements in your chart and can "see" your personality, as well as life events and possibilities - both the good and the bad times in your life. The dashas are then used to determine "when" the events will unfold in life.

Use of Gemstones In Vedic Astrology / Gem Therapy

*Gems are related to the various planets and produce a balancing effect on an individual.
*It is a primary method of a Vedic Astrologer’s therapeutic measures to heal physical, mental & spiritual situations.
*It is known that planets produce effects on humans; for example, the full moon not only causes high tides but also affects the emotions of some people.
*The gemstones were studied and used to neutralize these effects.


Energy Waves of Gemstones

*Different stones create different effects on the human body.
*Like all objects, gemstones too have color and vibration.
*The color and vibration of the gems affect the human body.
*Gemstones absorb and reflect (like a filter) the planetary rays or vibrations. Thus, gems relate to specific energy waves.
*The planetary vibrations are negative, while the radiation of the stones is positive. When the positive and negative vibrations are combined, they are neutralized. Just as an umbrella or sunscreen protects one from the sun, so gems protect one from the influence of the planets.

Use of Rudraksha in Vedic Astrology / Rudraksha Therapy

*According to Vedic astrology, Rudraksha is helpful in removing the bad effects of the planets.
*Gems are used especially for enhancing the strong planets. In some cases, gems alone cannot remove the bad effects of the planet; hence it is advisable to wear Rudraksha.
*By wearing Rudraksha based on the birth chart, not only planets are pacified but peace, harmony, good health, and abundance comes to its wearer and he/she becomes a beloved of Lord Shiva.